guy_interrupted's blog

Sex, drugs and sausage rolls: London life, love and other random stuff

The tale of Guy, Interrupted

with 10 comments

Image: Old book on writing desk

Once upon a time...

Every tale has a beginning. This is mine:

There once was a small boy who loved words.

At the age of two, still in nappies and barely even toddling, he was gatecrashing his older sister’s reading classes, bullying her into submission and demanding the tutor’s time, until at last, his bemused but secretly very proud mother sent him for lessons of his own.

He was fascinated by letters, and how he could put them together to make syllables, then words, and finally — sentences and paragraphs.

Books were his friend during difficult times — his parents divorce, bullying at school, an unsettled childhood. Something about the clean white pages filled with neat, ordered rows of words calmed him, and, once he started turning those crisp pages, he happily escaped for hours into the worlds they created in his mind.

He dreamed of becoming a writer. He wanted to use the power of language to affect others, to fuel their emotions and imagination the same way it had done for him as a little boy.

The boy became a man, and never lost his love of words and writing. He started a blog — at first in secret, fearing people would think it was no good — but eventually admitting it was him writing the posts he so often posted links to.

He dreamed of the day he would hold his first published book in his hands. He could see the book in his mind’s eye. For some reason it always had a yellow cover. He saw himself at a party to celebrate its launch. All his friends were there, and it was one of the happiest moments of his life.

Then, one day, a respected author who was familiar with his work asked him to write a short story. The short story was for a collection featuring new and established authors.

Numerous disappointments over the years had left him slightly cynical, and even as he sent the finished manuscript, in the back of his mind he believed nothing would ever come of it. Until a few weeks later, when he got an email with a PDF attachment. It was a proof of his story, laid out in book format, typeset and bearing his name at the top of each page. It blew his mind.

On the 15th July 2010, he’ll be at the London Literature Festival, doing a reading from that very story. Its title is Dying, And Other Superpowers, and it’s part of a collection entitled Boys and Girls, published by Glasshouse Books. You can buy a copy here if you’d like – it only costs a tenner, and £2 from every sale goes to The Albert Kennedy Trust.

On the 12th August, he’ll be at the launch party for Boys And Girls. All his friends will be there, and it will be one of the happiest moments of his life.

His childhood dream will have come true, but hopefully, his tale is only just beginning.

Oh, and the book’s cover? It’s yellow. Funny how life turns out, isn’t it?

Written by guy_interrupted

June 30, 2010 at 12:10 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good Luck Kristian…

    I’ll be one of your many friends at this event for sure 🙂

    Proud of you!!

    Simon
    x

    Simon

    June 30, 2010 at 12:31 pm

  2. That is so AMAZING Kristian!!

    You are such an inspiration and an example that you really can make your dreams happen!!

    Well done!

    xxxx

    Louise

    June 30, 2010 at 1:14 pm

  3. This is so TRUE!!! your first school report said “Kristian can read an encyclopaedia upside down” I am going to try and find it and post it on facebook!

    I will be there at the Literature Festival, try keeping me away, the flight is already booked. We are proud of you. Well done.

    Ps you were out of nappy’s at two, you hated the things!

    Mum

    June 30, 2010 at 1:16 pm

  4. Well done. I’ll be ordering my copy.

    Trevor

    June 30, 2010 at 1:37 pm

  5. Congrats to you.
    A release and promo on my birthday; I’ll have to find some way of obtaining said release!

    oskyldig

    June 30, 2010 at 3:25 pm

  6. Ah thats fantastic! Congratulations! I hope its a runaway success!

    John

    June 30, 2010 at 4:08 pm

  7. That’s awesome news! Found out about it on Paul Burston’s blog and spotted the pic of you. I’ve ordered a copy of the book and some tickets for the literature festival event, hope it goes well for you!

    Caspar

    June 30, 2010 at 4:26 pm

  8. It’s always good when we start off on a path when we are really young and keep to that aim, like you when I was aged 7 I used to love to write stories and type them up, but a year or two later it started to be more wanting to be in radio. Teachers told me I was a “dreamer” but I achieved my cream.

    I’m so Pleased that you also got the chance and now I have read your story I just want more! and that is a good sign, so start thinking!

    Just wish I had more confidence a member of a top US soul group asked me to write his autobiography and of the group, but I know he deserved someone better than me.

    jaybs

    July 13, 2010 at 4:42 pm

  9. […] as I’ve said before, it’s the beginning of my story, and I don’t know if it’s a short story, a novel, or a whole fricking library, but I can wait […]

  10. I’m so late to this party, but I’m purchasing my “Boys & Girls” right now…

    LukeFazak

    March 21, 2012 at 1:07 am


Leave a Reply

